The Geraint Ashton Jones Trophy was introduced by the Royal Navy Rugby Union Referee Society at the end of the 2016 season.  Named after former referee, Secretary and Chairman of Referees, Lt Cdr Geraint Ashton Jones RN,  the award is presented to the Referee Society member who has contributed above expectation as a volunteer.  The inaugural recipient was Spider Kelly at the end of the 2014./15 season.

Extract of the minutes from RNRURS committee meeting held at Weymouth RFC prior to the RNRU 7’s competition 10 Jun 15:
“5. RNRURS Matters:
            The committee agreed the following awards for 2014-15:
            Referee of the season -  Steve Woolley
            Newcomer of the season - Simon Priestley
            Upon ratification of the RNRURS budget from the RNRU, a new “value the volunteer” trophy would be created entitled “The Geraint Ashton Jones RNRURS Volunteer Award”.  The first recipient would be Spider Kelly.”
The minutes of the 10 Jun 15 meeting were read and accepted in item 2 of the RNRURS committee 2 Jul 15 at HMS NELSON.


Recipient Year
Dave Mealing 2022
Wolfie Power 2020
Stu Collins 2019
Tim Bailey 2018
Andy Coles 2017
Paul Stinchcombe 2016
Spider Kelly 2015