Commander Brian Weeks Royal Navy was for many years the drive and energy behind Navy Youth Rugby serving the cause as Secretary and then Chairman. Through his efforts many players were identified and nurtured for future success in both Naval and International colours. These included Spencer Brown, the Navy’s last full England international and also Si Burns and Dave Sibson. Two players who are both in the top ten of most caps won by Navy players.

On leaving the Service he was awarded Life Membership in 1991. In his memory the Brian Weeks trophy is awarded to the best aged group player in the lead up to and including the Inter Services Tournament. It was first awarded in 2007. The inaugural winner was Wayne John in what turned out to be an Inter Service year. He along with fellow winners Jonny Stephen and Dennis Scotthorne went on to win their Senior caps. Like Wayne, Dennis won it the year he was captain, another season when the Navy U23′s lifted the Inter Service title. The winning captain theme resumed with the 2022/23 award to Dom Cleverley, who led his team to a record breaking Inter Service title. The teams 44-3 win over the Army broke a number of records.

In 2017 Scott Makepeace made a little piece of history when he became the first capped player to receive the award. Like Dennis Scothorne, Scott played second row and was an U23XV Inter Service winning captain. In lifting the trophy following a comprehensive win over the RAF and a draw with the Army Scott ensured that the U23XV class of 2017 became the second most successful team in the RNRU's history.

YearThe Brian Weeks TrophyNo.
2024Andrew 'AJ' Hussell - No 8
2023Dominic Cleverley - Prop
2022George Prentice - Centre
2021N/A Covid 19
2020Keaton Leyland-Jones - Flanker
2019Kai Alton - Prop
2018Scott Makepeace - 2nd Row732
2017Tom Hughes - Prop/Hooker
2016Gareth John Rees - Scrum Half721
2015Jack Basher - Openside Flanker728
2014Edd Pascoe - Second Row716
2013John Barnett - Blindside Flanker
2012Ratu ' Toots' Vakalutukali - Backrow710
2011Dennis Scotthorne - Second Row675
2010Jonny Stephen - Scrum Half676
2009Ed Gaught - Hooker
2008Wayne 'Cowboy' John - Scrum Half663