The Chris Alcock Trophy was introduced by the Royal Navy Rugby Union at the end of the 2016 season.  Named after former player, captain, Selector and Chairman of the Union, Capt Chris Alcock OBE RN, the award is presented for outstanding achievement in support of the Royal Navy Rugby Union.  

The inaugural recipient was Senior XV Head Coach, Ash Coates.  Ash had been part of the Senior XV support structure since 2008 progressing from analyst through to Head Coach.  He was part of the TSG for the 2010 Inter Services win and was Head Coach for the win in 2016.

The second recipient was the long serving Royal Navy Rugby Union Secretary, Alan Church.  Currently the 2nd longest serving Secretary, Alan's tenure started during a period of significant turmoil within the Union and particularly its administrative function.  If those first couple of seasons were a case of fire fighting, almost on a day to day basis, he was key in steering the Union back to calmer waters before his planning skills helped it to once more experience strategic growth, off the field if not always on it.  

In Ash and Alan the bar has been set high for the recipients of the Chris Alcock trophy.

Geraint Ashton Jones - July 2017

Recipient Year
Gary Bushell 2023
Andy Kellett 2020
Sapphire Seven - Jo May, Toni Ashmore, Ruth Bardsley 2018
Alan Church 2017
Ash Coates 2016