The Dave Hambrook Trophy was awarded for the first time in 2019 to the Sevens player of the year.

Dave Hambrook was first capped for the Royal Navy in 1966 and went on to win 16 caps in a fourteen year career until his final cap in 1979.  During this time he was part of an Inter Service winning side twice, in 1966 and again in 1974.  He was made a Life Member of the Royal Navy Rugby Union in 1998.


VIIS's Player of the Year


Year Name
2023 Will Rigelsford
2022 Will Rigelsford
2021 Kane Teear Bourge
2020 N/A - Covid
2019 Ben Chambers