This trophy was introduced in the 2012/2013 season and was first presented, by Mike, on the night before the 2013 Army Navy match.

Mike Connolly first capped for the Navy in 1974, captain in 1982, Head Coach of the unbeaten side of 1986/87, coached the Combined Services to their first win over the Barbarians and former coach of the Mariners

The award citation reads:

"The Mike Connolly Award is given to the member of the Royal Navy Mariners Rugby Union Squad who has made the most impact through the season. This player will have shown leadership, commitment and energy in the finest tradition of the over-35's game.

The Mariner's are Navy Rugby's Over 35 XV and they play in the annual Inter Service Over 35 Championship.  The inaugural winner was Wilf Rees.

YearThe Mike Connolly TrophyNo.
2024Dane Warwyck
2019Paul Saberton
2018Ollie James
2017Matthew Smith
2016Russ Sayer
2015Guy Pallet
2014Sam Halofaki
2013Wilf Rees