The Roger Sherratt Trophy is awarded to the member of the Royal Navy Women’s Rugby Union Squad who is deemed to be the most valuable player of the season.  This player will have shown strong leadership qualities both on and off the field, have provided a positive influence on the Squad and have displayed the attitude and bearing that epitomises the values of the Royal Navy Women Rugby Union Team.
The Trophy is awarded in memory of Mr Roger Sherratt, who was the first benefactor of the Royal Navy Women’s team.  Roger Sherratt first became involved in the Women’s side through his daughter, Clare Sherratt, who supported the team as both a  player and as the Assistant Team Manager.  The Royal Navy Women remain indebted to the support of Roger Sherratt as without his backing, the team would not have received the opportunity to gain the recognition of the wider RN Rugby community, which has allowed us to become the more professional organisation that we are today.
The inaugural winner was Claire ‘Taff’ Hopkins and the first holder of the trophy to become a capped player was Sarah Simms who was jointly presented with the trophy by Dee Sherratt and outgoing RN(W) Chairwoman Paul Rowe who had for many years been almost a lone force in driving the women’s game forward.

YearThe Roger Sherratt Trophy
2024Yvonne Mealy - 2nd Row
2023Rose Dixon - Centre
2022Sam Anderson - Fulback / Fly Half
2019Emily Park - Hooker
2018Sam Alderson - Fullback
2017Charlotte Fredrickson - Flanker
2016Pippa Hutchinson - Prop
2015Lauren Morton - Centre
2014Paula Bennett-Smith - No. 8
2013Charlotte Fredrickson - Flanker
2012Lauren Morton - Scrum Half
2011Sophie Roseamon - Blindside
2010Sarah Simms
2009Claire Hopkins - Fly Half